Celebrating Judicial Triumph: Senior Advocate Kapil Sibal Secures Presidency of Supreme Court Bar Association

(Judicial Quest News Network)

New Delhi, May 16th – Senior Advocate Kapil Sibal Clinches Presidency of Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA). With the ballots now tallied, Sibal emerges victorious with an impressive 1066 votes.

In the presidential race, Senior Advocate Pradeep Kumar Rai secured the second position with a commendable 689 votes.

In the recent Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) elections held on May 16, 2024, the legal fraternity witnessed a dynamic display of democratic fervor. Senior Advocate Priya Hingorani secured the third position in the prestigious presidential race, a testament to her esteemed standing within the legal community.

As the ballots were tallied, it was revealed that a total of 2,330 votes were cast out of a possible 2,850, indicating a robust participation rate of 82.45% among the association’s members. This high level of engagement underscores the significance of these elections and the collective commitment of the legal fraternity to the governance of their esteemed association.

The electoral process commenced on May 9, with candidates formally declaring their intentions to contest for various positions within the SCBA. Following this, nominations were submitted, culminating in a meticulously curated list of candidates displayed on the SCBA’s notice board and website by May 12.

A pivotal moment in the electoral journey was the spirited debate among candidates vying for the positions of President and Honorary Secretary, held on the Supreme Court lawns, underscoring the democratic ethos and transparency inherent in the SCBA’s electoral proceedings.

Among the notable contenders for the presidency were Advocate Neeraj Srivastava, Senior Advocate Adish Chandra Aggarwala, and Advocate Tripurari Ray, each bringing their distinct vision and experience to the fore.

Furthermore, the race for other key positions within the association witnessed an array of talented contenders. Seven candidates vied for the role of Vice President, including esteemed Senior Advocates Sukumar Pattjoshi and Swarup Praveen, alongside several other noteworthy candidates.

The contest for the post of Honorary Secretary saw a diverse pool of ten candidates, each offering their unique perspectives and capabilities. Similarly, the positions of Joint Secretary and Senior Executive Members attracted nine and nine candidates, respectively, reflecting the breadth of talent and dedication within the legal fraternity.

Additionally, the elections saw significant participation in other crucial roles, with fifty-four candidates contesting for Executive Members, ten for Treasurer, and five for Joint Treasurer. This multifaceted engagement underscores the vibrant democratic spirit and commitment to service within the SCBA.

As the legal community eagerly awaits the announcement of results for the remaining positions, these elections stand as a shining example of the democratic principles and collective ethos that define the esteemed Supreme Court Bar Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *